







# LISSONE (MB) MUSEUM OF CONTEMPORARY ART

# JOSÉ MIGUEL PEREÑÍGUEZ SI THE WINNER OF THE 2010 EDITION OF THE LISSONE PRIZE

The long preliminary part of *the 2010 Lissone Prize* has come to an end with the selection of 45 young artists made by more than one thousand Art Galleries located in France, Great Britain, Germany, Hungary, Spain and Italy.

After a long-lasting discussion, the jury has assigned the prize to JOSÉ MIGUEL PEREÑÍGUEZ (Seville, 1977) whose work *Xvarnah Landscape* will be part of the prestigious collection of the museum accompanying those of the past winners of the Lissone Prize such as Antoni Tàpies, Josè Guinovart and Luis Feito, Appel, Dufrêne, Schneider, Werner, Morlotti, Dorazio, Vedova, Perilli, Scanavino, Adami and many others.

The Spanish artist was chosen "for a language of painting and signing that comes through a sophisticated elaboration of shape and space able to develop a new interpretation of sensitive data".

In the selection phase, the jury has also indicated two artists – **Alessandro Di Pietro** (Messina, 2987) and **Marisa Favretto** (Seward, Alaska, 1974) who won a *Special Mention* for "having revisited painting and photography through a mental reformulation of territory" the first and for the "visual synthesis of masterpieces that go inside territories linked to a visionary and symbolic feature" the second.

Daniela Ronchi, the Lissone Municipal Alderman for Culture, Identity and Local Traditions in the Municipality of Lissone said: "it is an honor for me to assign this prize to José Miguel Pereñíguez, whose work, chosen among 45 finalists, for the quality and the fineness of a sophisticated expressive language, will be part of the Museum of Contemporary Art collection with the works of artists such as Tàpies, Appel, Morlotti, Vedova, Dufrêne, Werner, Adami and others. I also want to thnak the jury for its huge effort to chose all the works that will be shown tonight."

Members of the jury were Daniele Astrologo, Director of the Museum Bodini in Gemonio, Gianni Bolongare, collector and responsible of the Park for environment art La Marrana in Montemarcello (La Spezia), Mario Casanova, director of the Centre for Contemporary Art of Ticino, CACT, in Bellinzona (Switzerland), Luidi Cavadini, Art Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Lissone, Lydie Di Meo, Director of the Di Meo Galley in Paris, Manuela Magliano, collector, Alberto Fiz, Art Director of the Museum of Art in Catanzaro – MARCA, and Ermes Meloni, responsible for the Famiglia Artistica Lissonese.

All the finalists will show their works in an exhibition hosted in the Museum of Contemporary Arti in Lissone, from November 18, 2010 to January 23, 2011.

Con il patrocinio e il contributo di:























The exhibition, promoted and organized by the Municipality of Lissone (with the Patronat of the European Parliament, MIBAC- Regional Direction of art and environment of Lombardy, of the Regione Lombardia, the County of Monza and Brianza, the General Council of Germany and Hungary in Milan, the Centre Culturel français of Milan, Istituto Cervantes of Milan, the British Council and the ANGAMC – National Association of Modern and contemporary Art Galleries), confirms the prestigious tradition of the different editions of the Lissone Prize held in the 50's and 60's, where important artists were presented. Some of those being Adami, Alechinsky, Appel, Birolli, Dorazio, Fautrier, Fontana, Hartung, Klein, Morlotti, Murtić, Perilli, Pollock, Rauschenberg, Rothko, Scanavino, Schifano, Schneider, Soulages, Tàpies, Tobey, Twombly, Vasarely, Vedova, Werner.

A catalogue edited by the Museum of Contemporary art of Lissone is available; **Luigi Cavadini**, the Art Director of the Museum has signed the introduction and it includes a list of masterpieces that were presented in the past editions and that are now owned by the City of Lissone.

#### The selected artists are:

Salvatore Alessi (Italy), Ikella Alonso (Spain), Nicoz Balboa (Italy), Simona Barbera (Italy), Antonio Bardino (Italy), Marcella Fabiana Bonfanti (Chile), Klaas Bosch (Holland), Gael Bourmaud (France), Sara Cancellieri (Italy), Gianluca Capozzi (Italy), Jacopo Casadei (Italy), Mimmo Centonze (Italy), Gordon Cheung (UK), Luca Conca (Italy), Roberta Coni (Italy), Angelo Crazyone (Italy), Valentina Crivelli (Italy), Pierpaolo Curti (Italy), Nebojśa Despotović (Serbia), Alessandro Di Pietro (Italy), Evol (Germany), Marisa Favretto (USA), Peter Feiler (Germany), Tine Furler (Germany), Monica Hansebakken (Norway), Andreas Hildebrandt (Germany), John Kleckner (USA), Laboratorio Saccardi (Italy), Lucia Lamberti (Italy), Stefan Lenke (Germany), Christof Mascher (Germany), Federico Mazza (Italy), Kaori Miyayama (Japan), Maki Na Kamura (Japan), David Navas (Spain), Patrizia Novello (Italy), José Miguel Pereñíguez (Spain), Ágnes Podmaniczky (Hungary), Ana Quesada Cerezo (Spain), Garcia Rubén Guerrero (Spain), Peter Ruehle (Germany), Giuliano Sale (Italy), Nicola Samorì (Italy), Rob Sherwood (UK), Aura Zecchini (Italy).

Lissone (MB), November, 18 2010

### **THE 2010 LISSONE PRIZE**

Lissone, Museum of Contemporary Art (viale Padania 6) **November, 18 2010 – January, 23 2011** 

**Timing: Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday** 15-19, Thursday 15-23, Saturday and Sunday 10-12 /15-19. Closed on Monday **Free entrance.** 

## FREE ACTIVITIES FOR CHILDREN FROM 4 TO 11.

Lissone, Museum of Contemporary Art (viale Padania 6) Sunday 21 november 2010 3 pm – laboratories for children age 4 to 7 5 pm – laboratories for children age 8 to 11 Laboratories last 2 hours.

Booking is mandatory: museo@comune.lissone.mb.it; tel. 039 2145174 - 039 7397368.

For any further information: tel. 039.2145174 - 039 7397368

Website: www.comune.lissone.mb.it

**Press Office** 

**CLP Relazioni Pubbliche** 

tel. 02.433403 - 02.36571438 - fax 02.4813841

press@clponline.it; www.clponline.it

This press release and related images on www.clponline.it