





## LISSONE (MB)

## FINALISTS FOR THE 2010 LISSONE AWARD CHOSEN

The selected artists will feature in a group exhibition to be held at the Museum of Contemporary Art in November 2010

The finalists of the **2010 Lissone Award**, the international painting competition for up-and-coming young artists aged under 40, have been chosen in Lissone, in the province of Monza and Brianza.

Pursuing the prestigious tradition of the editions held in the fifties and sixties of the last century, involving some of the leading artists on the international scene of the day, such as Adami, Appel, Birolli, Dorazio, Moreni, Morlotti, Ruggeri, Scanavino, Schifano, Tàpies and Vedova, the award sets itself the task of promoting and valorising contemporary art and its multiple languages, creating moments of comparison and of visibility for the maestros of the future, developing operating relationships and synergies at international level and increasing the heritage held by the museums in the town of Lissone.

The 2010 edition is doubly significant, as the group exhibition of the selected artists, due to be held in November 2010, also launches the celebrations marking the tenth anniversary of the inauguration of the Museum of Contemporary Art.

States **Daniela Ronchi**, Lissone Municipal Alderman for Culture, Identity and Local Traditions, "It is an honour for me and for the whole community in Lissone to be able to celebrate the first ten years of the Museum of Contemporary Art. The building itself constitutes a heritage for the town and, together with the works it holds, offers a lasting legacy of the importance of the contribution made by Lissone to the history of twentieth-century art. Lissone played host the greatest artists of the last century, while its Award achieved a degree of celebrity comparable to that of the Venice Biennale. That history now continues with the editions dedicated to young artists whose input will qualify the Museum as a dynamic hub, fully up to date with developments in contemporary artistic research."

The selection for the 2010 Lissone Award was made by a technical jury whose members were Daniele Astrologo, director of the Bodini Museum in Gemonio, Gianni Bolongaro, collector and manager of the La Marrana Environmental Art Park at Montemarcello (La Spezia), Mario Casanova, director of the Centre of Contemporary Art in Canton Ticino – CACT in Bellinzona (Switzerland), Luigi Cavadini, artistic director of the Lissone Museum of Contemporary Art, Lydie Di Meo, director of the Di Meo Gallery in Paris, Manuela Magliano, collector, and Alberto Fiz, artistic director of the Museum of Art in Catanzaro – MARCA.

The jury was called on to appraise the work of 294 young artists (195 from Italy and 99 foreigners), who had been nominated by the galleries of six European countries (Spain, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary and Italy), selecting 45 to take part in the joint exhibition to be held in the Museum of Contemporary Art in November 2010, when the name of this edition's winner will be announced.

Describing his experience in the jury, the artistic director of the Lissone Museum of Contemporary Art, **Luigi Cavadini**, stressed how "the quality of the artists positively amazed the members of the jury, whose choice was made all the more difficult by the excellence of the entries. In addition, as artistic director, I believe that the partnership established with institutions that operate internationally is of crucial importance to enabling us to develop and increase the Museum's relations."

The artists selected are Salvatore Alessi (Italy), Ikella Alonso (Spain), Nicoz Balboa (Italy), Simona Barbera (Italy), Antonio Bardino (Italy), Marcella Fabiana Bonfanti (Chile), Klaas Bosch (Netherlands), Gael Bourmaud (France), Sara Cancellieri (Italy), Gianluca Capozzi (Italy), Jacopo Casadei (Italy), Mimmo Centonze (Italy), Gordon Cheung (UK), Luca Conca (Italy), Roberta Coni (Italy), Angelo Crazyone (Italy), Valentina Crivelli (Italy), Pierpaolo Curti (Italy), Nebojśa Despotović (Serbia), Alessandro Di Pietro (Italy), Evol (Germany), Marisa Favretto (USA), Peter Feiler (Germany), Tine Furler (Germany), Rubén Guerrero Garcia (Spain), Monica Hansebakken (Norway), Andreas Hildebrandt (Germany), John Kleckner (USA), Lucia Lamberti (Italy), Stefan Lenke (Germany), Christof Mascher (Germany), Federico Mazza (Italy), Kaori Miyayama (Japan), Maki Na Kamura (Japan), David Navas (Spain), Patrizia Novello (Italy), José Miguel Pereñíguez (Spain), Ágnes Podmaniczky (Hungary), Ana Quesada Cerezo (Spain), Peter Ruehle (Germany), Saccardi Workshop (Italy), Giuliano Sale (Italy), Nicola Samorì (Italy), Rob Sherwood (UK) and Aura Zecchini (Italy).

Lissone (MB), July 2010

## 2010 LISSONE AWARD

Lissone, Museum of Contemporary Art (viale Padania 6)

For further information: tel. +39.039.2145174 - +39.039.7397368

Website: www.comune.lissone.mb.it

Press office CLP Relazioni Pubbliche

tel. +39.02.433403 - +39.02.36571438 - fax +39.02.4813841

press@clponline.it; www.clponline.it

This press release and related images are available on www.clponline.it